IGNORED

Triple Mikuni Solex 40 on L3.1 Stroker

I bought a triple set of Solex 40PHH carbys a while back to put on my L24, but lately I've been entertaining

the idea of buying an L28 and building a 3.1 stroker. I know its probably not worth the expense and trouble

to go for this sort of engine, but I love the sound and extra torque ( with a bit more top end power ) that

you'd get with a stroker motor. This engine would be built over a long period of time ( to spread out the costs)

post-20477-14150818968724_thumb.jpg

My question I guess is has anyone used 40mm Solex Carbies on a Stroker motor? Would they be too small

or can they be modified to flow better? I'm no expert on Carburetors, or do I need to go to 44mm Solex

Carbs? I'd rather keep my existing ones if I can. And I'd like to stay with Solexes rather than Webers.

I wouldn't be trying to build a monster race motor, just

one that can cruise easily with probably a mild cam in it.

Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.

post-20477-14150818968028_thumb.jpg

I'm not an expert but from what I've read, 40mm is a little small for an all out 3.1 stroker but if you stick with a mild cam and max out the choke tubes I suspect it will be a wonderful combination. For reference, I'm running 44's with 34mm chokes on my 3.0 stroker with a big cam/ported heads in a track car. The 34mm chokes cause this combination to be under carbed but it's still a blast to drive. It makes gobs of torque and pulls hard to red line. Unless you do a bunch of head work I don't think the engine you are building will be any more undercarbed than mine.

Just my $0.02.

If you want a real expert's opinion talk to Todd at Wolfe Creek racing.