IGNORED

Fuel Pump gets no power

zewald

Hey guys, i have a 75 280z, and it's taken me about 2 months of spinning my wheels to finally get on here and ask about this problem. I've looked at everything i can think of in the car. my fuel pump will not pump gas into the engine, it's not getting any power. i've checked the connections, and gone through as much of the harness as i can get to at the moment. and i haven't been able to find any problems, i replaced the pump to no avail. (i tested the old one and it definitely was faulty anyway) but i was wondering what else i should check to find the problem. this car has been my dream car for a long time, and i really want to get the thing up and running. any help would be appreciated.

I'm no expert on 280's but, have you check with test light to see if it is 12v or, ground that is faulty? If you've already checked the basic: fuse box & (in-line fuse?) I would just run new wire to solid power source. FYI- Mine was wired to coil by PO & figured out that it was robbing power from coil at higher rpms.

i don't have a test light. where could i find one? and the problem is that even when cranking the engine, the fuel pump gets no power. i've checked all the grounds and gotten rid of all the corrosion i could find, so i just don't know what to do next.

If you don't have a test light or a voltmeter, then how do you know the pump is not getting power? When you say "no power" do you mean "no noise" from the pump? Or have you checked with a voltmeter?

Most auto parts or hardware stores will have a test light for sale.

Do you get spark? Will the engine start on starting fluid? If no spark, check your EFI harness fusible links.