IGNORED

New Z Owner from MN

Warty

HI All,

In 1987 or so, I test drove a 1978 280Z, I think it was $1500-2000, in that range. I don't remember why I passed on it, other than it was the first car I had looked at in that search, and I wanted to check out some others. I ended up buying a 1979 RX-7. This was pre-internet, you have to remember. While that was a cool car (flip up headlights!) it didn't have that awesome "sitting in a cockpit" feel that the Z had. Well, that and the engine blew almost immediately, but hey... 

Fast forward 30 years, I finally reversed the decision, and got a 240Z. I have been tracking them for a few years. I didn't want a project car, I know I'll never find time to get it out of the project stage. I didn't want a concours car, because then I'd be terrified to drive it. Finally found a good candidate, in my price range, and shipped it up here from AZ. 

HLS30-01427, January 1970. 

The car came with a lot of service records. The thing that stuck out to me in reading them is just how frustrated the first and second owners must have been. The amount of work done on the car is stupendous. Makes me appreciate every 1990+ car I ever owned, even more (in terms of build quality, I mean). None of the previous owners did anything crazy, it is largely original in nature, I would say, but wow a lot of repairs and replacements were made. For example, completely re-upholstered in 1979 (only 8 years in??). It also had a refresh done by a PO (in the 80s I think). Has an airdam, metal "grill" trim (and shoulder-height trim), and wrong blue. And a non-matching L24. 

Immediate Plans:

• Find a mechanic in MN to help me with it.
  • Install 3 point seatbelts (lots of good threads here on that). I don't have to worry about re-sale value going down because I make a 3rd anchor point for the belt, do I? My gut feeling is that this car is unoriginal enough that something like that won't matter a bit. Am I right about that though?