IGNORED

1978 280Z barn Find / sons dream car won't stay running

kelly969

My son purchased a 1978 280z.  He is 17 and not a mechanic.  Of course we have a mechanic; however, he is younger than the car.  The Z was sold to my son.  It was in a barn for approximately 10 years.  My mechanic is honest; however, this vehicle is challenging.  At this point and time, the vehicle starts and shuts off after minutes.  The cold start valve has been replaced among other things.  At this point we are working on the ignition coil and a part that cannot be identified,  I read post and yet have not  located this part to purchase.  Please let me know if you know what it is.  I have heard distributor condenser, ignition capacitor...at this time it cannot be found. The capacitor I purchased had one wire.  This part has two. Please help.

No I am not a mechanic but I am intelligent enough to understand parts on a vehicle. So please help and not belittle.

Message_14642974632691.jpg

That part is a capacitor, AKA condenser.  The one wire units ground through the case and mount, the two wire units have a separate ground wire, as yours does.  But they both do the same thing.  If the engine starts that's not likely to be your problem.  If it was shorted, you'd know it because it would short whatever it's connected to.  I wouldn't worry about unless you've measured continuity and know that it's shorted.

If the car sat for ten years, you'll need to give many many more details on what's been done to it before you tried to start it.  The gas tanks on these cars aren't well sealed and tend to get rusty after just a few years, let alone ten.  The fuel pumps get rusty, the injectors get clogged, the filter could be full of water.  Who knows.